Osun At 30: Segun Aina Says ‘Osun State Doesn’t Need Federal Govt. Allocation To Grow But More Investors’

Segun Aina Says

…Osun at 30: Celebrating a Milestone, Building a Prosperous Future

On 27th August 2021, Osun State clocked 30 years of creation. This, no doubt, is a landmark anniversary worth celebrating but was celebrated on Thursday, September 9, with a Colloquium titled “Osun at 30: Celebrating a Milestone, Building a Prosperous Future”, which as the title indicates was a commemoration of the 30th anniversary of the creation of Osun State.

To mark this anniversary, a few events were lined up under the theme Osun at 30: Celebrating a Milestone, Building a Prosperous Future. Among these are a Colloquium and a State Banquet/Awards Ceremony.

Dr. Segun Aina, OFR, Chairman of Odu’a Investment Company Limited, a global professional banking leader, internationally rated fintech ecosystem enabler and thought leader, transformation expert, chartered arbitrator, respected futurist, and a philanthropist during the Colloquium discusses the developmental strides of the State since its creation and the way forward. “I join in celebrating the 30th anniversary of our great state must come with utmost thanks to the almighty God who has brought us this far and who continues to be the source of joy to all indigenes of Osun State, home and abroad.

“I greet the governor of the state, His Excellency, Chief Gboyega Oyetola. and commend him on his giant strides towards developing the state thus far and charge him to do more by involving all stakeholders. We must affirm, just like his predecessors, that he is doing his best for the state, and all hands must be on deck if we are to place Osun in its place of glory.

On August 27, 1991, the Babangida administration created nine additional states: Abia, Delta, Enugu, Jigawa, Kebbi, Kogi, Osun, Taraba, and Yobe, bringing the total number of states in Nigeria to 30.

The states were carved out of existing states; Osun, for example, was part of the old Oyo State; Delta was carved out of the defunct Bendel State; Jigawa used to be part of the old Kano State; Yobe State was carved out of Borno State; Enugu State from Anambra State; Taraba State from the old Gongola State; and Kebbi State from Sokoto State. Four years earlier, the same Babangida administration had created two States: Akwa Ibom and Katsina.

“The people of Osun are known to be resourceful, resilient, and diligent in whatever they are found doing. That is why we must all continue to do our best so that our dear state can continue to soar higher.”

He said Osun State doesn’t need allocation from the federal government to stand on its own, investors can are the key thing. “It feels like yesterday since our dear state, Osun, was created; alas, it is already 30 years today, Dr. Segun Aina concluded.

The Banquet will feature honors for deserving citizens who have contributed uniquely to the development of the State and humanity in general.

Among those who graced the event are Keynote Speaker; Chief Bisi Akande
Chairman: H.H. Sultan Muhammadu Sa’ad Abubakar
Moderator: Prof. Niyi Akinnaso
Panelist: Dr. Segun Aina
Panelist: Otunba Titi Laoye-Ponle
Panelist: Dr. Yemi Farounbi
Panelist: Prof. Banji Oyelaran-Oyeyinka
Panelist: Mr. Babajide Kolade Otitoju
Panelist: Mr. Mahmud Jega
Panelist: Mr. Steve Nwosu
Panelist: Dr. Reuben Abati
Panelist: Ms. Bamidele Ademola-Olateju
Panelist: Ms. Dooshima Abu
Panelist: Prof. Siyan Oyeweso


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here