Senate Confirms Gbenga Alade As AMCON MD, Three Others As Executive Directors 
Right-Left: Dr. Aminu Mukhtar Dan’amu, Executive Director, Asset Management Corporation of Nigeria (AMCON); Mr Adeshola Lamidi, Executive Director AMCON; Mr Gbenga Alade, Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer AMCON; Senator Tokunbo Abiru, Chairman, Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance, and other Financial Institutions; Senator Abdullahi Gumel, Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters, Senate and Mr Lucky Adaghe, Executive Director AMCON after the screening recently at the National Assembly, Abuja

By Olushola Okunlade

The 10th Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria on Tuesday confirmed four persons nominated by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu as Managing Director and Executive Directors of Asset Management Company of Nigeria (AMCON).

The nominees that were confirmed to serve AMCON include the former Managing Director of Guarantee Trust Bank (UK) Mr Gbenga Alade, who comes in as Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer. The Executive Directors are Mr. Adeshola LamidiMr. Lucky Adaghe, and Dr Aminu Mukhtar Dan’amu.

In a statement released by Jude Nwauzor, Head, Corporate Communications Department of AMCON stated that the final confirmation at Tuesday’s plenary came after the screening exercise by the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance, and Other Financial Institutions, chaired by Senator Tokunbo Abiru.

The distinguished Senator told the Senate that the nominees were subjected to screening in line with parliamentary rules and were found competent to serve as Directors of Asset Management Corporation of Nigeria. He further noted that they all have ‘on the job’ experience, just as the nominees also complied with the Code of Conduct rules. Most importantly, Abiru added that no petition was raised in objection to their nomination.

The plenary, which was presided over by the Deputy Senate President, Jibrin Barau, dissolved into the Committee of the Whole to consider each nominee based on their merit, after which they were confirmed through voice vote.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here